Slideshow image

We are continuing to streamline the governance structure of the diocese to free people to do ministry rather than attend meetings about doing ministry. We began this work by reducing the size of diocesan council and the frequency with which it and the finance committee meet each year. We also eliminated the role of regional dean, in recognition that there was significant overlap with the regional archdeacons’ duties.

With the Selkirk region’s archdeacon, Dawna Wall moving on to a new ministry opportunity south of the border, the bishop and archdeacons felt it a good time to reconfigure the regions of our diocese, and to better utilize the gifts and skills of those who offer their leadership in this way. With this in view, effective March 1, 2022 we will have four regions instead of five including:

Mid-North Islands – archdeacon: Elizabeth Northcott

Christ Church, Alert Bay
St George, Kingcome Inlet
St Columba, Port Hardy
St John Gualbert, Port McNeill
St Columba, Tofino
Trinity, Port Alberni
St Peter, Campbell River
St Anne & St Edmund, Parksville
St Mark, Qualicum Beach
S Peter, Comox
St Saviour, Denman Island
St John the Divine, Courtenay 

Cowichan Mid-Vancouver Island – archdeacon: Clara Plamondon

Christ Church, Gabriola Island
St Mary, Nanoose Bay
St Philip-by-the-Sea, Lantzville
St Paul, Nanaimo
St Philip, Cedar
St Michael & All Angels, Chemainus
St John the Baptist, Duncan
St Peter, Quamichan
St John the Baptist, Cobble Hill
St Christopher & St Aidan, Lake Cowichan

Greater Victoria – archdeacon: Alastair McCollum

Christ Church Cathedral
St Barnabas
St Dunstan
St George the Martyr
St John the Divine
St Luke
St Mary the Virgin
St Matthias
St Philip
Two Saints Ministry
St Peter & St Paul

Western, Peninsula & Gulf Islands – archdeacon: Lon Towstego

Holy Trinity, Sooke
Church of the Advent, Colwood
St Mary of the Incarnation, Metchosin
St Michael & All Angels, Royal Oak
Parish of Central Saanich
Parish of Pender & Saturna Islands
Holy Trinity, North Saanich
Parish of Salt Spring Island
St Andrew, Sidney
St Margaret of Scotland, Galiano Island
St Mary Magdalene, Mayne Island

Contact information for regional archdeacons can be found here.
Contact information for parishes can be found here.