Slideshow image

CORRECTION: Territory of the People elects its first bishop

In an announcement issued on Saturday, January 25 we incorrectly reported that Lincoln McKoen (incumbent St Peter, Campbell River) was elected as the second bishop of the Territory of the People. Lincoln will be the first bishop of the territory.


The Territory of the People, once named The Anglican Parishes of the Central Interior (APCI) is located in the South Central region of the Province of British Columbia. Until 2015, APCI was an unincorporated division of the Provincial Synod of British Columbia and Yukon, under the direct episcopal supervision of the bishop suffragan to the metropolitan of the Province of British Columbia & Yukon. In the fall of 2015, ACPI received approval from the Synod of the Ecclesiastical Province of British Columbia and the Yukon and the national Council of General Synod to recognize APCI as a territory with rights to elect a bishop through its own nomination and electoral processes.  In 2017, they formally celebrated the new name and entity of the Territory of the People and have remained under the leadership of the bishop suffragan, Barbara Andrews.

The proposed date for the historic consecration and installation of the first bishop of the Territory of the People is May 8, 2020. 

The diocese of islands and inlets celebrates this story of good news and faithful witness in the life of the Anglican Church of Canada.