

The Diaconate in the Diocese of British Columbia: Some Notable Dates and Developments

- 1982 William Savage ordained Deacon and assigned to Parksville as an Assistant
- 1992 Denis Wheeler ordained Deacon and worked at St. Peter's Lakehill
 - Margaret Edgar ordained Deacon and served at St. Margaret of Scotland until 1996
 - Dolly (Alice) Beaumont ordained Deacon and assigned to St. Mary's Metchosin where she returned in 2008 after work as Hospital Chaplain
- 1998 Suzanne Crerar, Eric Detchon, Nancy Ford, Charles Massey, Ron MacLuskie, and Gil Shoesmith are ordained to the Diaconate. They studied with Archbishop Douglas Hambidge.

Suzanne was a chaplain at the Gorge Road Hospital, and placed at St. Andrews Sidney,

Eric Detchon was chaplain and a teacher at Shawnigan Lake School,

Nancy Ford was a counsellor and Co-ordinator of Counselling Services for IPSA and placed at St. Mary's Oak Bay,

Charles Massey (a former UCC minister) chaplain to the RCMP in Comox, he was later priested Ron MacLuskie served as chaplain at the Nanaimo Correctional Center and was later priested,

Gil Shoesmith served at Gorge Rd. Hospital and was placed at St. Stephens Central Saanich.

- 2002 Penelope Black was ordained to the diaconate. She was priested in 2006
- 2002 Maggie Cole ordained to the diaconate and served at St. Peter's Campbell River. She moved to the to the Diocese of New Westminster
- 2003 Marjorie Sager a deacon from the Diocese of New Westminster was received into the Diocese of BC and licensed to St. George's Victoria until her retirement
- 2003 Elizabeth Fussell, a deacon from the Diocese of Kootenay was received into Diocese of BC and is licensed to St Peter's Campbell River and became the Regional Deacon for the Nimpkish Region 2010-2011 until her retirement. She also served as the chair of the Bishop's commission on the diaconate
- 2004 Betty McLeod Miller, a deacon from the Diocese of New Westminster was Received into the Diocese of BC and licensed to St. Saviour's, Vic West.
- 2004-2005 Bishop James set up the Commission on the Diaconate which made the following recommendations:
 - i) establish a Chapter of Deacons
 - ii) appoint a Director of Deacons
 - iii) establish a Diaconal Discernment Conference
 - iv) develop of a formation/education program
- 2005 Bishop James appointed Nancy Ford as Director of Deacons
- 2006 Norah Fisher was ordained to the diaconate and licensed to St. Peter's Lakehill
- 2006 Diocese of BC candidates and candidates from the Diocese of New Westminster in Abbotsford for a shared Diaconal Discernment Weekend (DDW).
- 2006 Betty McLeod Miller was elected Chair of Chapter
- 2007 Marcia McMenamie was appointed the Secretary for the DDW.

- 2007 Diocese of BC hosts the Diocese of New Westminster for the DDW at Bethlehem Retreat Centre.
- 2007 The North American Association for the Diaconate recognises the Director of Deacons for work on the diocesan formation and training program.
- 2008 Diocese of BC welcomes participants from the Diocese of Olympia to DDW.
- 2008 After completing the discernment process, formation/education program, and parish internship,
 Wally Eamer and Lynn Wilson were ordained to the Diaconate.
 Wally was licensed to Holy Trinity Sooke and continued to work with First Nations.
 Lynn was licensed to St. Anne's and St Edmunds, Parksville.
- 2009 David Fitzsimmons and Shelagh Huston become postulants for ordination to the Diaconate.
- 2010 The Chapter of Deacons produced a PowerPoint presentation on the Diaconate for the 2010 Diocesan Synod
- 2011 David Fitzsimmons and Shelagh Huston were ordained to the Diaconate on November 30, 2011
- 2011 Dereck Atha and Heather Eisan were recommended to postulancy at the DDW at Shawnigan Lake School
- 2011 Director of Deacons elected to the board of the Association for Anglican Deacons in Canada (AADC)
- 2012 The Chapter of Deacons signed a covenant with the Church of Christ, the Diocesan Cathedral
- 2013 The Documentary on the Diaconate PATHWAYS TO COMPASSION completed and premiered in Berlin Germany at the World Diakonia Conference and later launched within the Diocese of British Columbia: to view the documentary please go to http://youtu.be/7nBXQPKqHRM . It is on YouTube for a brief time.
- 2013 The Reverend Eric Detchon died.
- 2014 The Reverend Heather Cutten was ordained to the Diaconate.
- 2014 Paul Schumacher and Marg Meisner declared postulants with internship placements at Our Place and Together Against Poverty Society.
- 2014- Rev. Nancy Ford was appointed to the Faith Worship and Ministry task force on the Diaconate of National Church
- 2015 Initial conversations and planning for the "Mind the Gap" program for nurturing vocations to the Diaconate in those under 35.
- 2015 The Chapter begins planning for the triennial AADC conference in 2017 to be held in Victoria
- 2016 Patrick Sibley and Marg Meisner ordained to the Distinctive Diaconate
- 2016 The Iona Report on the Diaconate is accepted by General Synod
- 2016 SuSan Jensen declared a postulant to the diaconate

The Reverend Canon Dolly Beaumont: St. Mary's, Metchosin (retired)

The Reverend Lynn Cawthra: St. Paul's Nanaimo

The Reverend Suzanne Crerar: (retired)

The Reverend Heather Cutten: St. Michael and All Angels, Chemainus

The Reverend Wally Eamer: St. Peter & Paul's, Esquimalt

The Reverend David Fitzsimmons, Nimpkish Region (on leave)

The Reverend Norah Fisher: (retired)

The Reverend Canon Nancy Ford: Christ Church Cathedral

The Reverend Elizabeth Fussell: (retired)

The Reverend Margaret Meisner: St. John the Divine (Courtney)

The Reverend Betty Miller: (retired)

The Reverend Marjorie Sager: St. George's (retired)

The Reverend Patrick Sibley: St. John the Divine (Victoria)

The ministries represented by the aforementioned Deacons include: social justice education, advocacy, first nations, addictions/mental health, poverty, homelessness and human rights. The skill sets available include but are not limited to: legal, financial, pastoral care/chaplaincy, counselling, and community organization.